Our Hope

 As I was driving towards Shreveport this evening with my younger brother on our way to Bible study, I asked him to read me a psalm. He read Psalm 103. It is a very uplifting song of praise and I believes it hits a homerun with regards to the work of Christ. That is very interesting considering it is the old testament, hundreds of years before Christ would come. He is hitting the attributes of God and just exalting the very character of who God is. He is going through the righteousness, the goodness, the power, and the glory of God. And then comes verse ten. And verse ten is right in stride and definitely dealing with the innate character of God. But it is memorable.

Psalms 103:10, “He does not deal with us according to our sins, nor repay us according to our iniquities.”

Praise the Lord! That’s just about all I can say in response to that. Praise God. The longer I live and the more God shows me the deceit and wickedness in my own heart – the more I rejoice. I think that it is amazing, the gospel never grows old. I never get tired or telling or hearing the gospel. My heart leaps for joy every time I hear the name of Jesus. If you have ever seen the smallest glimpse of your own vile, filthy, wicked heart- you will never tire of hearing the gospel either. 

He doesn’t repay us as we should be! Because we should be damned to hell a million times over for our sin. The wages of sin is death and you earned death. I earned death. I believe that we understand our depravity the more we will praise and glorify Jesus Christ our Lord. 

It is not like a story that grows old. It’s not like the story about your friend almost getting in a car wreck that by the third time they start into it you stop them and say, “That’s alright. I’ve already heard the story. I don’t need to hear it again.”

Praise God for the good news that saves to the uttermost.

~ by Andrew Axsom on September 5, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
